One Lucky Sonofagun

And that’s when we heard it, a groan that could only mean one thing, we made eye contact and both gave an “oh shit” look, scrambling for safety as our survival instincts took over. Del was closer to the door and was just barely able to superman out before it all crashed down on him, by inches. Seeing as I was further in, that same route wasn’t going to be an option for me, nor was the way I originally tried going as a result of not all the paneling having been knocked out yet, requiring a 180 degree change in direction and meaning there was no way I was going to make it out in time. 

I was forced to make the best of a shitty situation, instinctively following the structure as it crashed down at an angle towards the house, getting as small as possible and kissing my ass goodbye.  I can very vividly remember my hardhat falling off in the process and thinking to myself what an opportune time it was for my PPE to fall off, and also thinking to myself “so this is how it ends?” as I prepared myself for the inevitable. There was a loud crash and then it all went black. 

Read the rest of it on Quora

Read Samuel Cooper‘s answer to Has your intuition ever saved your life? on Quora

Questions Comments Snide Remarks?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.